PDP wins Imo rerun Chidiebube Okeoma , Owerri

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Jerry Alagbaoso of the Peoples Democratic Party the winner of the supplementary election held on Saturday in Orlu/ Orsu / Oru East Federal Constituency in Imo State .

The Returning Officer of the election , Emma Anakwuba , announced the results and returned the PDP candidate under tight security at INEC' s office in Owerri on Tuesday .

This declaration is coming three days after political thugs invaded INEC ' s collation centre in collation , tore the election results , accusing the electoral umpire of compromising the exercise .

INEC had already collated results of 14 out of 18 polling units before the hoodlums struck .

The results of the remaining four polling units were collated at the INEC ' s headquarters in Owerri on Tuesday and thereafter a winner was announced .

The returning officer said that the PDP candidate polled 22, 475 votes to emerge the winner .

According to Anakwuba , the All Progressives Congress candidate , Eddy Iheanacho got 20, 814 votes while All Progressives Grand Alliance got 5 , 099 votes .

He said, " That Jerry Alagbaoso of the PDP having scored the highest number of votes and satisfied the requirements of the law is returned elected . "

The winner , who was first elected into the house of representatives 2011 was reelected in 2015 , was declared winner again in 2019 .

An appeal court in Owerri partially canceled his victory in 2019 and ordered a supplementary election in 18 polling units in the federal constituency.

Copyright PUNCH

Post a Comment